Village Government

Mayor and Board of Trustees

  • Dave Spesia

    David Spesia, Village President (Mayor)
    Term expires end of April 2027

  • Stone

    Alexis Stone

    Village Clerk
    Term expires end of April 2027

  • Pamela-Noffsinger

    Pamela M. Noffsinger, Trustee

    Planning & Zoning Chairwoman
    Parks Co-Chairwoman
    Term expires end of April 2027

  • Screenshot 2024-06-28 112513

    CJ Lauterbur, Trustee

    Parks Chairman
    Finance Co-Chairman

    Term expires end of April 2025

  • Mincey

    Bill Mincey, Trustee

    Streets & Alleys Chairman
    Planning & Zoning Co-Chair
    Term expires end of April 2025

  • Tim-Bradley

    Tim Bradley, Trustee

    Finance Committee Chairman
    Streets & Alleys Co-Chair
    Term expires end of April 2025

  • Dan Greggain headshot

    Dan Greggain, Trustee

    Water & Sewer Chairman
    Public Health & Safety Co-Chair
    Term expires end of April 2027

  • Dave-Togliatti

    Dave Togliatti, Trustee

    Public Health Safety Chairman
    Water & Sewer Co-Chair
    Term expires end of April 2027

Park Board

Meet 3rd Tuesday of each month

Jim Ludes
Kris Perino
Georgette Vota
Laura Jones

Planning and Zoning Board

Meet 1st and 3rd Monday of each month

Maria Lewis
Cody Krug
Jill Breneman
Jason Peters
Brad Littleton
Walt Mahaffay
Amanda Burns

Police Pension Board

Meet four times a year

Quint Harmon
Kyle Harmon
Kevin Jones
Joshua Nugent
Fred Ehrman

Fire and Police Board of Commissioners

Jason Lusson
Stephanie Enerson
Thomas Youskevtch


Elected Officials

Meetings 2nd and 4th Wednesdays 7PM

The Village of Coal City was incorporated on August 17, 1881 with the population of 900. Coal City lies within three townships, Braceville, Felix and Wilmington and within two counties, Grundy and Will. Its first mayor was James Short. Coal City’s present population is 5,587. Beginning in 1999, the Village adopted the President-Trustee form of government. Since the initial election, the President and six Trustees are elected on a nonpartisan basis during staggered terms. Each of the Board members receive a four year term upon their successful election.


David Spesia

Village President (Mayor)

Dave was appointed in March 2018 as Trustee to fill a vacancy. Born and raised in Joliet and a graduate of Joliet Township West High School, class of 1984, Mr. Spesia is an honorably discharged, 4-year veteran of the United States Marine Corps serving in North Carolina, California, and 1 year in Okinawa, Japan. Trustee Spesia was previously employed by BP/Amoco Joliet for 11 years holding a variety of positions including: Process Operator, Senior Inspector, Maintenance Planner and Contractor/Construction Coordinator. In July of 2000, Dave formed, Fastrak Construction Management, LLC, for which he is currently its sole proprietor.

Dave moved to the community in 1994 and currently resides in the Prairie Oaks Subdivision with his wife, Lisa and son, Zachary. The Spesias have deep roots in the area dating back to 1890. As a youth, Dave seldom missed a Carbon Hill Homecoming and spent many summer days at local recreational clubs.

Since moving to Coal City, Dave enjoyed 10 years as a volunteer team Coach for his son, Zachary and daughter, Abbey while they played in the Coal City Area Youth Baseball and Softball leagues. As Zachary and Abbey entered Coal City High School, Dave enjoyed working the concession stands for various events, supporting their teams and seeing the players he had coached through the years maturing into young adults.

With Abbey and Zachary having graduated High School and moved on to college, Mr. Spesia decided to remain involved with the Coal City community by accepting an appointment as Village Trustee and has now been elected as Mayor where his work experiences and knowledge of the area shall be beneficial.  

Dan Greggain

Water & Sewer Chairman

Public Health & Safety Vice-Chair

CJ Lauterbur

Park Committee Chairman
Finance Committee Vice Chairman

Dave Togliatti

Public Health & Safety Chairman
Water & Sewer Vice-Chair

Tim Bradley

Finance Committee Chairman
Streets & Alleys Vice-Chair

Tim Bradley was born and raised in the Village of Coal City, and is a graduate of the Coal City High School Class of 2011. Tim completed an Associates of Arts in Business at Joliet Junior College, and currently studies Business Administration and Economics at Illinois State University.

When not attending school Tim is employed at Morris Hospital and begins his third season as an Assistant Coach for the Coal City Coaler Football Team. Tim is a member of New Hope Presbyterian Church in Coal City.

Pamela M. Noffsinger

Planning & Zoning Chairwoman

Parks Vice-Chairwoman

Streets & Alleys Chairman
Planning & Zoning Vice-Chair

Alexis Stone

Village Clerk

City Budget Plan

The Village of Coal City operates on a fiscal year beginning on May 1st of each year ending on April 30th of the following calendar year. The completion of the annual budget is due to collective efforts of the Mayor, Village Board, Village Administrator, Treasurer, and all Village department heads.

The Village Board of Trustees adopts a budget prior to May 1st of each year in order to guide the Village’s departments – Public Works, Police, Community Development, and Administration with guidelines for expenses that occur throughout the year. There are 25 employees who work for the Village of Coal City throughout all of these departments.

Any comments or questions regarding the budget should be directed to the Village Administrator.

Budget FY25

Category: Budget

Annual Employee Compensation FY25

Category: Budget

March 21, 2024 Budget Meeting

Category: Budget - Meetings - Village Board Meetings
Meeting Date: 03/21/2024
Agenda Minutes

March 18, 2024 – Budget Meeting

Category: Budget - Meetings - Village Board Meetings
Meeting Date: 03/18/2024
Agenda Minutes

March 11, 2024 – Budget Meeting

Category: Budget - Meetings - Village Board Meetings
Meeting Date: 03/11/2024
Agenda Minutes

Annual Employee Compensation FY24

Category: Budget

Budget FY24

Category: Budget

Independent Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2022

FY 2022 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2021

FY 2021 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2020

FY 2020 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2019

FY 2019 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2018

FY 2018 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2017

FY 2017 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2016

FY 2016 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2015

FY 2015 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2014

FY 2014 Audit Report

Independant Audits - 2013

FY 2013 Audit Report

Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA)

On June 26, 2009, the General Assembly passed Senate Bill 189. The Governor signed the bill into law on August 17, 2009, as Public Act 96-542. On January 11, 2010, the Village of Coal City adopted ordinance 10-01, that adopted a policy on the Freedom Of Information Act and designated the Village FOIA officers.

All requests for inspection or copies of public records must be submitted in writing in accordance with the Village of Coal City’s Freedom of Information Act Policy.

The Village also adopted Resolution 10-01 on January 11, 2010, that appointed the following as our official “FOIA Officers”:



Scroll to Top